How to Sign Out of iCloud on iPhone, iPad, or Mac Correctly


There are plenty of situations when you need to change or simply log out of your Apple iCloud account on an iOS device. The reason the user is forced to do this is not that important. What (and how) to do? In this guide, we will show you how to sign out of your account on your iPhone, iPad or iPod Touch and at the same time save (delete) the data on the device.

♥ BY THEME: How to transfer current call from iPhone to iPad or Mac.

Why do i need to sign out of iCloud?

There can be many reasons to sign out of iCloud, below are the most common.

1. Planned handover of the device to a new owner (sale, gift, etc.).

2. Switching to a new Apple ID account

3. Delivery of the device to the service center (most SCs accept for maintenance and repair only with an “empty” iCloud).

♥ BY THEME: Which iPhone holds the battery better? Comparison of the battery life of all current iPhones.

Signing out of iCloud doesn’t delete data from iCloud

First, you need to decide what to do with the data stored on the device itself – leave it or delete it.

It is worth noting that if, before exiting iCloud, the device was enabled for synchronization (not to be confused with a backup) of applications with iCloud (for example, Contacts, Notes, Reminders, Calendars, files in iCloud Drive, etc.), then all the data of these applications still remain in the Apple cloud, which means they can be easily restored to a new device. To do this, you just need to enter your Apple ID information at the very top of the main screen of the Settings application.

How to Sign Out of iCloud on iPhone, iPad, or Mac Correctly

How to Sign Out of iCloud on iPhone, iPad, or Mac Correctly

To make sure that data is safe on Apple servers, for example, Notes or Contacts, go to icloud.com from your computer and open the corresponding web application.

How do I view files in iCloud?

If all the data is in place, then you can safely delete everything from the device when you exit iCloud. Again, when you sign out of iCloud on iPhone, iPad and Mac (assuming all apps have been synced), all data remains in iCloud.

If you re-enter the data of your old account, for example, in a new iPhone, all this data will go back to your gadget.

♥ BY THEME: ICloud sync vs. backups: what’s the difference and which is better?

How to sign out of iCloud on iPhone, iPad or iPod Touch and Mac

On your iOS device, go to Settings and go to the Appe ID section (where your name and surname are indicated, at the very top). At the very bottom, click Log off… On a Mac, go to System settings → iCloudLog off

How to Sign Out of iCloud on iPhone, iPad, or Mac Correctly

A pop-up menu appears with three options:

1. Sign out of iCloud and Store: when this option is selected, the iPhone or iPad will be unlinked from the iCloud account (disabling the Find iPhone and Activation Lock functions), deleting or saving (at the user’s choice) information on the device, as well as exiting services (App Store, iTunes Store, Apple Music, etc.)

2. Sign out of iCloud: there will only be an exit from iCloud – unlinking the iPhone or iPad from the iCloud account (disabling Find iPhone and Activation Lock), deleting or saving (at the user’s choice) information on the device.

3. Exiting the Store: when you select this item, only the exit from the Apple electronic stores (App Store, iTunes Store, Apple Music, etc.) will occur.

Select the option you want, enter the password to turn off Find My iPhone, and press Log off

How to Sign Out of iCloud on iPhone, iPad, or Mac Correctly

If necessary, indicate which data should be copied on the device:

How to Sign Out of iCloud on iPhone, iPad, or Mac Correctly

Ready! The iCloud account has been deleted from the device + Find My iPhone has been turned off. At the same time, before deletion, we analyzed the content posted in the “cloud”.

Now you can create a new iCloud account or enter your other Apple ID information.

See also:

Rate article
( No ratings yet )
Share to friends
JuicyAppleNews
Leave a Reply