Why “Remote Software” in the settings of mobile Internet on iPhone consumes traffic

Why “Remote Software” in the settings of mobile Internet on iPhone consumes traffic All Apple NEWS

Studying feedback from iPhone users running the latest versions of iOS, starting with 13, gives an interesting observation – a lot of people complain about the high consumption of Internet traffic. It is not even surprising that this is surprising, but the fact that previously deleted applications consume it.

♥ BY TOPIC: How to put a password of 4 characters (digits) instead of 6 on your iPhone or iPad.

Faced with this problem complain that their smartphones using wireless connections transmit somewhere large amounts of data. And okay, this would apply exclusively to Wi-Fi networks – in mobile networks, set limits are quickly reached and exceeded. Such a problem is far from being noted by all users, nevertheless, it cannot be overlooked. At the same time, such iOS behavior is in no way associated with a specific iPhone model.

First, it’s worth knowing that in iOS Remote Software has been full-time for at least 4 years. Here you can find out how much traffic the applications that you deleted have consumed. This information just helps to understand where those gigabytes or megabytes disappear, which are especially critical in the conditions of a tariff with a limited amount of traffic. The problem arose in that users, even knowing about this menu item, began to complain about the overestimated rates of cellular traffic consumption by this element.

♥ BY TOPIC: Black and white screen on iPhone: how to do it and why is it needed?

Does “Remote Software” on iOS use mobile traffic?

A cursory study of the problem showed that it had nothing to do with the country of residence, meeting not only among Russians, but also among users from other parts of the world. All these people once found a field in a cellular data counter Remote Software, which owned the bulk of the consumed traffic. Sometimes the consumption turned out to be so large that it amounted to tens and even hundreds of gigabytes.

Why “Remote Software” in the settings of mobile Internet on iPhone

It is hard to believe that some inactive application needs to transmit such a volume of information. But it is important to understand one nuance.

In iOS, the counter of traffic consumption from Remote Software not reset every month, as it would seem logical. In this way,

On the menu Remote Software indicates the entire amount of consumed cellular traffic by iOS applications that have been removed from the device since the last counter reset in the section Cell data.

Below in the screenshot on the left is the amount of data Remote Software is 32.7 MB. After uninstalling the VK application (which has used 4.3 GB of cellular traffic since the last statistics reset), the figure increased to 4.3 GB.

Why “Remote Software” in the settings of mobile Internet on iPhone

With high probability, it can be argued that few people bother resetting this parameter. As a result, applications accumulate, each of which by the time of deletion had consumed megabytes and gigabytes of traffic.

Why “Remote Software” in the settings of mobile Internet on iPhone

It was worth interviewing users, as it turned out that the counter really is not reset, and over the years of use, the numbers are added up, and a rather impressive number is formed. With high probability, it can be argued that the traffic was consumed by the users themselves.

♥ BY TOPIC: Erasing data on iPhone after 10 incorrect password attempts: how it really works.

Conspiracy theory?

Among those complaining about increased traffic consumption there are also those who are convinced of the uniform and constant consumption of traffic, regardless of the removal of a particular software and whether or not information is transmitted over cellular networks. It’s hard to believe, only such people are not few. Some users noted that they left their smartphone with an indicator of 600 MB downloaded Remote Software traffic, and after checking after a few hours, the indicators increased already to 700-800 MB. It turns out that the smartphone transmits information in the background, recording the flow to Remote Software.

Apple itself does not comment on the situation, promising to sort it out and give an answer later.

This situation and the behavior of the software developer immediately spawned a series of conspiracy theories. The most popular version speaks of Apple’s opening of access to US intelligence services to customer smartphone data, making hidden surveillance possible. And those gigabytes leaking to the Internet are secretly taken photographs and audio recordings of conversations, as well as data on the user’s movements and his personal files. It’s hard to believe in such theories, but how are things on your device? Does this indicator remain constant until the removal of the next application, or does it gradually increase even in the conditions of unchanged installed programs? Tell us about your experience, this will help identify the problem!

See also:

Rate article
( No ratings yet )
Share to friends
JuicyAppleNews
Leave a Reply