Why it is not necessary to close (unload) applications on iPhone and iPad from the multitasking panel

Why it is not necessary to close (unload) applications on iPhone and iPad from the multitasking panel All Apple NEWS

Until brands take up the issue of drastically increasing the active time of smartphones, ordinary gadget owners will be interested in all kinds of popular tips. One of them says that the application is not enough to close, it is also necessary to unload it from the iOS memory. That’s what we’ll talk about.

♥ BY TOPIC: How to get Yandex.Disk unlimited cloud for storing photos and videos from iPhone and iPad.

Interpretation of the common “life hack”

Having finished working with the application, we tap twice with the usual gesture on the Home button or use the corresponding gesture on the iPhone with Face ID, minimizing the program window. However, it still continues to hang in memory, starts processes and brazenly consumes system resources. In order to save the latter, it is recommended that you manually remove the “dependent” and close it – at our command, iOS forcibly unloads from the RAM all data packets associated with this software. The load on the system will decrease, and the amount of energy consumed by it will be proportionally reduced. Logically, isn’t it? Only partially wrong.

ON THIS TOPIC: The battery on the iPhone runs out quickly, why and what to do? 30 ways to solve.

IOS multitasking algorithm

Lecturer and educator Fraser Speirs offers the following explanation from the Dummies category (officially confirmed by Apple). Any application in the apple mobile OS at a particular point in time is in one of five states.

  • Does not work. The period between the complete shutdown of the program and until the next start, during which the system does not interact with it in any way. Of course, there is no battery charge.
  • Launched but Inactive. Occurs when the screen is locked without minimizing the current window. The software occupies the nth volume of RAM, but the processor is not active and no energy is spent on its operation.
  • Actively. Full-fledged work with the application, during which the maximum use of system resources is observed.
  • Background mode. The window closes, but a number of services continue to work, for example, searching for and downloading updates. The load on the gadget is full, but iOS gives such processes a minimum priority, redistributing resources in favor of applications that are active.
  • Closed. Data exchange between the program and the system is stopped, however, it remains in the RAM. This does not require any significant amount of energy, iOS just makes a “bookmark”, which allows you to significantly speed up the loading of the application when you access it again through the multitasking panel.

Having finished working with the program, we press the Home button or use the appropriate gesture on the iPhone with Face ID – from “Active state” she immediately moves to “Background mode”.

Why it is not necessary to close (unload) applications on iPhone and iPad from the multitasking panel

If there are existing services, it will hang until they finish completing their tasks, after which a forced transition to the “Closed state” will follow. It will happen in any case – iOS waits a few seconds and if there is no background activity, it automatically performs this procedure.

Now our application does not create a load on the system, but still takes up megabytes of RAM. When they become in demand, for example, when you start something heavy, iOS will automatically clear the required amount of memory. And the program will translate into a state “Does not work”, which completely eliminates her use of system resources, including precious electricity.

♥ BY TOPIC: “Calculator” on iPhone: hidden features of a standard iOS application.

What happens when a person decides to intervene

VisuallyBackground mode“From the state of”Closed“Cannot be distinguished in any way – this will require special utilities that analyze activity in iOS in detail. However, the icon, just a picture, continues to hang in the multitasking menu, confusing the user. From his subjective point of view, the application is still working, read, consumes system resources. This is required to stop – a person puts his finger on the screen, thereby forcing iOS to respond.

For an application that has long been “Closed” and does not actually interact with the processor, a separate session of forced unloading from memory is launched. It lasts for nothing, but this is a load on the system, entailing the consumption of a certain amount of resources. For a second, the work of other programs will slow down, the battery will part with a fraction of the charge, and when the user wants to start the same application again, everything will happen again – there is no more data in the memory, you need to load it.

As a result, it turns out that manual unloading of applications allows you to free up the memory they occupy, but it provokes additional battery consumption. That is, we get an effect that is completely opposite to what was expected. If we are talking about popular software, then the combination of constant “start + paranoid closure” provokes a completely meaningless overspending of a valuable resource without any tangible benefit. That’s right – iOS automatically redistributes memory according to the optimal scheme, without overloading the processor, but for interacting with the user, it is obliged to activate a more bulky and gluttonous window interface. One output image of the menu on the screen with the backlight of what it costs.

An example on the fingers: we go into the kitchen, pour juice from a decanter into a cup, put the container back in the refrigerator, and return to the living room ourselves. After taking a few sips, we can set aside the cup, but since right now it is not needed, then we again go to the kitchen and pour the unfinished liquid into the decanter. And then suddenly another hand gets tired of keeping the vessel on weight, again, forces will be wasted. But I want to drink something – after some time the procedure will have to be repeated, again and again. Not too smart, is it? So let a half-empty cup with juice stand on its own, without taking up either a place in the hand or thoughts, but then you don’t have to run back and forth. It is another matter if you want tea – then it makes sense to go to the kitchen and work to wash the cup, preparing it for a different purpose.

♥ BY TOPIC: 7 accessories for iPhone and iPad that you need to have in every car.

Effective method of saving system resources

Formally in “Background” the application does not have to stay long, but certain categories of software abuse their authority. Partly due to the negligence of the developers, but more often this is done deliberately. For example, a Mail app configured for instant push notifications never switches to “Closed state”. The lion’s share of software loves to monitor maternal sites in search of updates without any demand, and each empty communication session leads to the activation of a number of device modules and energy consumption.

ON THIS TOPIC: How do I find out which application consumes the most battery on my iPhone or iPad?

In order to stop this disgrace, iOS introduced a mechanism to limit the operation of the system by applications in the background. Allowing them to access the Internet only when installed in a dock is a great idea. In order to save resources, it is advisable to set the access to the Network in the inactive time of the day when the person is sleeping.

Energy will be saved indirectly, due to the fact that there is no need to use the screen and distract the processor to priority data processing in the active window. In this regard, iOS completely depends on a competent user – to go over the menu after installing the software and choose which application to give the green light to and which red, the system with the proper level of efficiency will fail.

And of course, don’t forget to set up notifications on your iPhone and iPad.

See also:

Rate article
( No ratings yet )
Share to friends
JuicyAppleNews
Leave a Reply