How to co-edit Notes on iPhone and iPad with other users or provide read-only access


With the release of iOS 13, iPadOS, and macOS Catalina, the Notes app has several useful and new features. Users got a gallery mode for improved viewing of notes, more powerful search when attaching images, and a better way to use checklists.

♥ BY TOPIC: How to create contact groups on iPhone and iPad.

In addition to all this, the “Notes” application also expanded the possibilities of sharing. Now you can optionally use entire folders for collaboration and restrict access to items only for viewing them. This is useful for showing other users your notes without the possibility of their making changes.

♥ BY TOPIC: Text gestures for iPhone and iPad you might not know about.

How to create a shared Notes folder on iPhone and iPad

To create a notes folder, open the main page of the application and click the button new folder… Select iCloud from the pop-up context menu.

How to create a shared Notes folder on iPhone and iPad

Enter a name for the folder and click Save

How to create a shared Notes folder on iPhone and iPad

Swipe from right to left on the created folder and click the blue button “Add people“.

How to co-edit Notes on iPhone and iPad with other users

The same can be done by opening the folder by clicking the “Additionally“In the upper right corner and choosing in the menu that appears”Add people“.

How to co-edit Notes on iPhone and iPad with other users

Choose how you want to send the invitation (you can also get a link to the folder by clicking “Copy link“).

Set the sharing options. To do this, click “Sharing options“And select”May make changes” or “View only“.

How to co-edit Notes on iPhone and iPad with other users

After the user receives the invitation and confirms it, the corresponding icon and inscription will appear on the folder.

How to co-edit Notes on iPhone and iPad with other users

After completing these steps, the invited user will be able to view or edit (if they have such rights) the notes in the folder.

♥ BY TOPIC: How to download a video from VK (VKontakte) to an iPhone or iPad and watch without the Internet.

How to create a shared note on iPhone and iPad

Open the note you would like to share and tap the “Add people“In the upper right corner and choosing in the menu that appears”Add people“.

How to co-edit Notes on iPhone and iPad with other users

Choose how you want to send the invitation (you can also get a link to the folder by clicking “Copy link“).

Set the sharing options. To do this, click “Sharing options“And select”May make changes” or “View only“.

How to co-edit Notes on iPhone and iPad with other users

After the user receives the invitation and confirms it, the corresponding icon appears on the note.

How to co-edit Notes on iPhone and iPad with other users

After completing these steps, the invited user will be able to view or edit (if they have such rights) the shared note.

To get more control over the changes made to the general note, configure a few more additional options.

Open shared notes and tap the “Add people” in the upper right corner. If you want to highlight all changes and / or hide alerts, just activate the corresponding radio buttons. These settings will be applied in case your members have permission to make changes. The settings will highlight the changes made in the text and send you notifications about the corrections made.

How to co-edit Notes on iPhone and iPad with other users

♥ BY TOPIC: How to block all calls from unknown and hidden numbers on iPhone: 2 ways.

Change the permissions of a folder or note

After you share a note or folder in the Notes app on iOS, you can still edit or stop accessing it.

To change permissions in general for all users who have been given access to a folder or note, open the folder or note and tap the “Add people” in the upper right corner.

Select the option “Close access“, If you need to stop sharing a folder or note, or go to the section”Sharing options»And specify the access right.

How to co-edit Notes on iPhone and iPad with other users

In addition, you can change the access right for selected users only. To do this, after going to the screen “Add people»You will see a list of users to whom you have granted access to the folder or note, and the rights granted to them (“View only” or “You can make changes”). Click on the name you want to change access rights if necessary or to stop accessing the folder (note) altogether.

♥ BY TOPIC: How to create and open ZIP archives on iPhone and iPad without installing additional applications.

How to share a folder or note for viewing only or editable on Mac

Open the Notes app on your Mac and use one of the following methods to share a note or folder.

Click the “Additionally“Next to the folder in the sidebar and select”Add people“. This method is only suitable for sharing folders.

How to share a folder or note for viewing only or editable on Mac

Click on File -> Add People To … and select a note or folder from the pop-up menu.

How to share a folder or note for viewing only or editable on Mac

Click the button on the toolbar “Notes“To”Add people to this note or folder», And select a note or folder.

How to share a folder or note for viewing only or editable on Mac

In the window that appears, select the method for sending the invitation, and also set up access rights: “Only invited users can make changes” or “Only invited users can view“.

Click “Share this”And continue the process according to the option you have chosen.

How to share a folder or note for viewing only or editable on Mac

After completing these steps, the invited user will be able to view or edit (if they have such rights) the notes in the folder.

ON THIS TOPIC: Download Manager in Safari on iPhone and iPad: how to use it, where is it located, where does it save files?

Change the permissions of a folder or note

After you share a note or folder in the Notes app, you can later make changes to the list of people you invite.

Open a shared folder or note and click the button on the Notes toolbar to “Add people to this note or folder“. You may notice that the button has a check mark and not a plus sign, as when creating a note or folder exchange.

How to share a folder or note for viewing only or editable on Mac

A small window will open showing the people you’ve shared with and the access you’re using. You can make a few changes if needed.

  • Access rights… Change the mode here from “view only” to “allow changes” or vice versa.
  • Copy link… Click to copy the link to the note for future sharing.
  • Close Sharing… Tap to stop sharing a note or folder, and then confirm your action by tapping “Proceed“.
  • Add users… Click here to add people to a note or shared directory. If you choose this option, an exchange window will appear. Be sure to configure “Access rights“Before pressing the button”Share this“.

How to share a folder or note for viewing only or editable on Mac

Whether you’re using the Notes app to collaborate in the office or share with your home, it’s nice to see improvement with shared folders and view-only options.

Tell us what you think of these updates for Notes. Are these the features you’ve been waiting for?

See also:

Rate article
( No ratings yet )
Share to friends
JuicyAppleNews
Leave a Reply